browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

How I Write….Finishing a First Draft

Posted by on 2010/07/14

Finishing that first draft is vital, so BUTT IN CHAIR!

Set yourself some goals and stick to them. One chapter a week, or a 2000 words a day– whatever you can reasonably accomplish in between your other job and family life , etc.

Who cares if your first draft is crappy– they usually are. Just get your ideas on the page, get a feel for your characters and where they are going, what they want. Give yourself permission to experiment. Give yourself permission to write like  a fourth grader. Give yourself permission to scratch something out and start over! It’s okay. It’s a first draft! Drafts are meant to be re-”visioned”. But you can’t re-”vision” if there is nothing there!

Enough said. Stop reading and go write!

Next Wednesday, motivation–getting through the dreaded middle pages.

Below is the current list of contributing writers to the HOW I WRITE blog series.

Click a link and find out HOW I WRITE! (in alphabetical order, check us all out!)

Kendall Ashby Corbit- http://www.twokendals.blogspot.com/ Rated R

Kristine Asselin – http://krisasselin.blogspot.com/ Rated PG

Tatiana Caldwell – http://tatianacaldwell.com/blog Rated R

Isabelle Flynn – http://www.isabelleflynn.com/ Rated PG

Ansha Kotyk – http://www.anshakotyk.com/blog Rated PG

Laura Pauling – http://laurapauling.com/ Rated PG

Alexia Reed – http://alexiareed.blogspot.com Rated R

Gail Roarke – http://gailroarke.blogspot.com Rated NC-17

P.M. Rousseau – http://pmrousseau.com/ Rated R

3 Responses to How I Write….Finishing a First Draft

  1. Laura Pauling

    So true. The wip doesn’t finish itself. Even when we don’t feel like it, we have to write!

  2. Ansha Kotyk

    Short but sweet. And very true. Just do it. :)

  3. Kay

    Okay, I’m going to write–as soon as I drop my daughter off at dance practice! I must write!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>